The missionary position on Boy Girl Relationships

376232_10151105693198961_1513166452_nIn late September 2013, a few weeks after my preliminary examinations ended, my first “mature” relationship reached a similar conclusion. It was an amicable parting with no tears shed (at least not in public), though I concede that he should have chosen a more propitious time to terminate our one-year romantic attachment.

We broke up on the grounds of “irreconcilable differences” – he was a backsliding Catholic, I was a hedonistic Protestant. Politically, we shared an allegiance to Singapore’s Ruling Party, and you would think our joint devotion to Lee Kuan Yew would be enough to rally us together, but sadly, no. In foreign policy matters, particularly on cross-strait issues, our ideological disparities were simply too vast to be bridged.

Personality wise, he was an alpha male and I was a flighty feminist. He chose his words deliberately and sparingly (unless he was on his favorite topics of discussion, in which case, his verbosity knew no bounds), I propagate irreverent commentary in public and private spheres.

There was nothing we could do but accept our divergent paths and move on bravely.

Ever since then, I have been on the search for a more like-minded companion. The problem with being religious (I envision myself attending church more faithfully in the distant future)  and politically aware is that two non-negotiable criteria are already imposed. Add to that my preferences (nearing 1.8m tall, hopefully enjoys feminist literature, worships the ground I tread on) and the Venn diagram intersection of eligible males further narrows.

While I continue to scour actively, my dad watches anxiously from the sidelines and imparts his pearls of wisdom over the phone. In order to convince him that I take his sagacious words seriously, I have converted them into florid motivational posters.

Enjoy the fruits of my digital labor. I like to say that I’m so broke that my only choice is to photoshop till I drop.

Fixateonatree

Good

worththewait

christian    Boyadvice1

And failing all that, if you remain resolutely forever alone, take heart, because:

Boys

The last one isn’t from my father, but it is a comforting reminder that I can always be a single-minded career woman who freezes her eggs.

Categories: Lifestyle

Tags: , ,

Compliments, criticism and credit card numbers are welcome.

